National Team News

AFCON 2021 Qualifiers: Musa, Omeruo back in Rohr’s 23 man provisional roster

Super Eagles Technical Adviser, Gernot the has listed a 23-man provisional roster for the 2021 African Cup of Nations qualifiers against Benin Republic and Lesotho in November with the team’s captain, Ahmed Musa as well as Kenneth Omeruo making the cut after injury layoffs.


South Africa based goalkeeper, Daniel Akpeyi has been recalled to take the place of France Uzoho who suffered a horrific injury in the last international friendly encounter against Brazil.

There is also the return of Bryan Idowu who plays for Lokomotiv Moscow and Vitoria Guimaraes’s Mikel Agu.

France –based utility player Samuel Kalu returns after missing the prestige friendly against Brazil. England –based midfielder Oghenekaro Etebo is on standby as a result of his injury and is being monitored.

Super Eagles will welcome the Squirrels of Benin Republic at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium on 13th November for the opening game of the 2021 AFCON qualifier  before flying to Maseru to play Lesotho’s Crocodiles on Sunday, 17th November, on Day Two of the qualifying series.  


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France);

Standby: Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Prague, Czech Republic); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England)

Freekick Naija

delivering the best of Nigeria football news 24/7

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button