Nigeria National League

Gateway, Malumfashi Booted Out Of Nigeria National League

Gateway Football club of Abeokuta, Ogun State and Malumfashi Football Club of Katsina State have both been ejected from the Nigeria National League (NNL), this is following their failure to comply with the terms and conditions of entry and participation for the 2023/2024 season as stipulated in the codified rules and regulations of NNL.

NNL Chief Operating Officer, Dr Ayo Abdulrahman told NNL media that the two clubs have been statutory withdrawn from the league for their financial inability and other club Licensing conditions for the season.

Dr. Abdulrahman said the NNL board arrived at the decision after exhausting several waivers granted the clubs to enable them participate in the league.

“We did several circulars, phone calls and reminders to the clubs, yet they fell short of the NNL rule book requirements even after the league started.

“Statutorily we had to invoke relevant portions of the rule book articles (2.1,3.11 and 3.5) to withdraw the teams from participating in the league.”

The development Dr. Abdulrahman strongly noted also means that Gateway United and Malumfashi forfeit their status as a professional clubs in the NNL.

Dr. Abdulrahman who said the decision is without prejudice to the clubs,their financiers, owners Associates or supporters ,noted that the clubs have a right if appeal to the Disciplinary Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) within forty eight (48) hours of receipt of the letter of withdrawal.

Gateway United was housed in conference B alongside Solution FC of Awka,Trade safe of Lagos, Osun United, Ijebu United;Int’l Lagos, Crown Football club, FC ONE Rocket Abat, Giant Brillars of Enugu and Ikorodu City of Lagos while Malumfashi was in Conference B with Sokoto United, City Football club of Abuja, Adamawa United, Kebbi United: Jigawa Golden Stars, Sporting Supreme of Abuja and Mailantarki Football club also of Abuja.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button